Home Page

Our Lady and St. Patrick's Catholic Primary School Part of the Mater Christi Multi-Academy Trust

Protected Characteristics

Covering the 9 Protected Characteristics in School


At OLASP, we are dedicated to educating children and young people about the world around them. This includes helping them become inclusive citizens. Covering the nine Protected Characteristics in our curriculum encourages our children to grow into young people who respect others.

What are the 9 Protected Characteristics?

As part of the 2010 Equality Act, the term 'Protected Characteristics' was coined. This followed campaigning from groups and individuals to promote and protect human rights.


There are 9 Protected Characteristics:


  • Sex
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender Reassignment
  • Marriage & Civil Partnership
  • Pregnancy & Maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or Belief


It is against the law to discriminate anyone based on these characteristics.


People are protected from discrimination at work, in school, as a consumer, when using public services, when renting or buying property, or as a member of a private group, amongst other scenarios.


At OLASP we actively promote these Protected Characteristics in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos.


Under the Equality Act you are protected from discrimination:


  • When you are in the workplace
  • When you use public services like healthcare (for example, visiting your doctor or local hospital) or education (for example, at your school or college)
  • When you use businesses and other organisations that provide services and goods (like shops, restaurants, and cinemas)
  • When you use transport
  • When you join a club or association (for example, your local rugby club)
  • When you have contact with public bodies like your local council or government departments


What is an educator’s role for Protected Characteristics?

As educators, we are legally obliged to promote equality, and to prevent and tackle discrimination related to the nine Protected Characteristics.


It is our responsibility to ensure that all pupils have equal access to resources and opportunities, regardless of these characteristics.


Covering Protected Characteristics in School


We cover much of the work we do on Protected Characteristics through the use of  Picture News.


To find out more about this, please follow the link below: