Home Page

Our Lady and St. Patrick's Catholic Primary School Part of the Mater Christi Multi-Academy Trust

Types of SEND

At Our Lady and St Patrick's Catholic Primary school we provide for a range of Special Educational Needs.


There are four types of Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND), as defined by the Department for Education:

  1. Communication and interaction
  2. Cognition and learning
  3. Social, mental and emotional health
  4. Sensory or physical


A school’s provision for SEND is defined as support which is additional to or different from that which is available to all students (SEND Code of Practice 2015)